General Discussions

Discuss any topics that are not product-specific here.

Sustanaibility of the workflow

Piera86
5 - Atom

Hi everyone, 

this is my first Message and I am also quite new to Alteryx. I do have a question for all of you related to the sustainability of the workflow. I give you the background:

- I joined a company 2 months ago

- they are doing E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G manually

- I started to created macro and in the same time I discover Alteryx

- the process I was able to perform with the macro can be easily performed with Alteryx with another impressive amount of time saved. 

My questions are:

once the workflow is set, is there a way I can lock it so (for instance) another user can only access to alteryx and link the new input file and take the output file without having the chance to change anything in the workflow? 

I hope it is clear, if it is not, please let me know and I will give you more info as needed. 

thanks for your support

P. 

7 REPLIES 7
joshuaburkhow
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

Yes, you can encrypt the file. Just make sure you understand how it works. Very important to add your serial # into it so that you can get into it later: 

https://help.alteryx.com/2018.2/ModuleEncryption.htm#:~:text=Workflows%20(including%20Analytic%20App....

Joshua Burkhow - Alteryx Ace | Global Alteryx Architect @PwC | Blogger @ AlterTricks
PhilippK
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hi @Piera86 ,

welcome to the Community and happy to hear about your success with Alteryx!

Regarding your question:

1.) I recommend that you build an Analytical App (graphical interface, which you can build on top of your workflow):

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Interactive-Lessons/tkb-p/interactive-lessons/label-name/Creating%2...

As a result, you could give the end user only the option to select the data input and consume the data output.

2.) you then need to provide this Analytical App to the end user. For this you have two options: