Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

updating find and replace tool with list box

KevinSobel
6 - Meteoroid

Is it possible to update the 'Find Within Field' value in the Find and Replace tool with fields selected in a list tool? When searching the community I see examples for the filter tool and formula tools, but not the Find and Replace tool.

I receive fields that contain foreign characters in different columns. Using the find and replace tool I am able to replace those characters with their corresponding Latin characters. An example of how I do this is attached.  

I would like to be able to turn this into a macro that I could select the columns from a list that should have those characters replaced. 

I am a novice when it comes to using the list box tool and action tools. I've tried a couple of different configurations but with no success. Any ideas are appreciated.

2 REPLIES 2
Qiu
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@KevinSobel 
Instead of we are going after each column one a time, the better way is to bring all the columns to one column, right?

Combination of Transpose and Cross Tab is exactly for this purpose.

0712-KevinSobel.PNG

KevinSobel
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks for your suggestion. I was able to turn it into a macro with a few improvements. Your original solution changes the field types and sizes to the value set in the cross tab, and I need them to be in the original types and sizes. I also included a step that if there are still non-ascii characters other than the ones I convert to their Latin equivalent, I remove them.