Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Unique Tool does not populate fields when I reopen saved workflows.

nkureishy
5 - Atom

I have been using Alteryx Version 2022.3 for about six months or more. Have not changed anything in my settings or updated any versions.
For the last one month, I have started having this issue-

When I open any workflow, the Unique tile is missing all its fields. Unless I run the workflow (of course, with an error), the Unique tile does not show any list of fields to select from.

I have tried the following:
In user settings - Enable and Disable Auto Configure.
In data connection - Selected, unselected Cache Data.
Deleted and added a new Database connection (Input Tile).

These are workflows that I have been using for a couple of years and also new ones that I just created. It is quite problematic because I do not remember the fields I selected in Unique Tile for all these workflows over the years and cannot see them anymore. After I run the workflow with the error, the Unique Tile populates the list of incoming fields and I have to select the fields from it, it does not show the fields I had selected when I saved and closed the workflow.

Thank you.

4 REPLIES 4
Peachyco
11 - Bolide

Peculiar case you've got.

After opening the workflow, before touching the Unique Tool (or any other tool, really), try any or all of these:

• Press F5 to refresh all of your streams. This will check your data source in the Input Tool and pass the metadata downstream. This might populate your Unique Tool before you look at it, hopefully preserving your selections as well.