Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Sharepoint Tools: Address Sharepoint Site Via URL or ID

danloz
8 - Asteroid

Hi,

I'm new to using the sharepoint tool and I've encountered this rather painful issue.  I installed sharepoint tools 2.1.0.  The good news is, it works!  The bad news is, I'm not sure how to get around this issue.  

When I plant the col on the canvas I go through configuration adding client id, secret, tenant id and go through authentication.  For this experiment I'm choosing the 'documents' route instead of the 'list' mode.  Everything is fine.  Then it comes time to point the tool at a sharepoint site.  There's a handy drop down list available.  Great. 

The trouble is:  

-My organization is apparently managing approximately eleventy million sharepoint sites making the list unpleasant to scroll through.    

-There seems to be some text searching ability but it appears less than effective.  This might be more of a function of the sheer volume of items.  

Interestingly, if I switch the tool to "list" mode and reconfigure identically, that gives you the option of specifying a list URL rather than having to mess with with a drop down list.  

I've kind of seen this issue before when I build workflows in PowerAutomate.  there's a drop down list which includes that giant list, but that development environment allows you to just paste in the site id or the url of the target site and therefore helping to get around the giant list.  

Is there similar functionality for me to provide a  URL to the sharepoint tool when in file mode? 

3 REPLIES 3
apathetichell
18 - Pollux

Talk to your rep - ask them to talk to the connectors team. Honestly - this should be like three lines of code. You shouldn't need a work around here.

danloz
8 - Asteroid

you think this is legit missing functionality?  

apathetichell
18 - Pollux