Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Seeking somehting similar to a VLOOKUP function

GK13
6 - Meteoroid

Hello all,

I am very new to Alteryz. I am attempting to accomplish the attached workflow but for multiple different columns all in one workflow. Each column's result needs to be independent of each other. Essentially, what I am looking to accomplish is that anytime a column (say column B) has a specific word (say "Yes") with an associated number (say #122) in column A, then anytime that associated number (#122) in column A appears again in the dataset, the value for column B in that row brings back "Yes".

I cannot list out each specific number that needs to be changed because my actual dataset is too large.

The attached workflow accomplishes this scenario for just one column, but I need to add other columns that will reference to column A as well.

Any help is appreciated!

5 REPLIES 5
SPetrie
12 - Quasar

Im a bit confused on how the multi-column setup should look.

Can you give an example input and expected output for a multi column example?

Doesnt need to be a workflow, just something like an excel or text file to give a good idea of what your input might look like and what the output should look like for that input.

GK13
6 - Meteoroid

Here are two columns that I would like changed in a workflow based on an associated number. Column B is based on a number and if "Yes" appears and column C is based on a number and if "Blue" appears.  Again, I can't list out the specific numbers I want changed because the dataset is way too large.

The highlights are what my desired results are.  The original workflow that I attached accomplishes this for column B, but I'm looking to create this again for column C.  I'd like it all in one output.

2023-11-17 16_30_38-Yes or No - Excel.png

AndrewDMerrill
13 - Pulsar