Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Seeking Recommendations for Hands-on Experience with Alternative/ Cloud based Databases

sanjay_shinde
8 - Asteroid

Dear Colleagues,

Throughout my journey as an Alteryx Designer, I have primarily worked with Excel and CSV data files. I am now seeking to expand my skills and gain hands-on experience with alternative databases such as OleDB, ODBC, and cloud-based databases such as MongoDB and MySQL.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions or recommendations that would enable me to gain this valuable experience.  I am eager to continue growing my expertise in Alteryx Designer and believe that expanding my knowledge in these areas will be a valuable asset to my skill set.

Thank you in advance for your assistance. I look forward to your response.

Best regards.

3 REPLIES 3
apathetichell
18 - Pollux

You should also be splitting your dbs in two categories:

1) SQL/semi-SQL based (ie Snowflake/MySQL/Postgres/BigQuery/Redshift/Databricks etc).

2) NoSQL (Dynamo DB/MongoDB/DataStax etc...)

From Alteryx's perspective if it's cloud or not will not matter. The connection set up will be facilitated by  an ODBC driver for a SQL/Semi-SQL either way...

RobertOdera
13 - Pulsar

Hi, @sanjay_shinde 

I will offer the following:

1. Reflect on the alternative database experiences you would like to explore and then "Search" in the Alteryx Community for posts marked as solutions. Use them as a springboard

2. In Alteryx Designer, click on all the tools in the "In/Out" and "In-Database." Select Open Example for all the tools and explore them extensively, paying attention to the configuration (best if you can connect to a similar DB that you have access to)

3. Help --> Tutorials --> Input and View Data --> Connecting to Data