Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Mass update an excel file

kgnott46
6 - Meteoroid

I am new to Alteryx. I have someone who wants me to mass update data (over 200 lines) all at one time using a Alteryx workflow and a attached Excel file to the workflow. This is so that we don't have to filter line by line in the Excel file to make the updates as this would take a long time. Can you do this? 

I know you can use the Excel file as your data input and then maybe use a text input? 

11 REPLIES 11
nagakavyasri
12 - Quasar

@kgnott46From my understanding of question, if you want to replace an excel file in Output, you can select 'Overwrite Sheet or Range' option in Output data tool.

If you want columns to be replaced, use Formula tool, select the column to be updated and use replace function. If multiple columns are to be updated you can use Multi Field Formula Tool.

Raj
14 - Magnetar

@kgnott46 what you can do is add a sample data of 10-15 lines and the expected output

will help with the flow which can be used for complete data set
you can go through it for upskilling and learning more about the Tools.

kgnott46
6 - Meteoroid

I actually need to update multiple rows at one time. I want to purge my list that they gave me out of this Excel file to make a mass update then un purge my filter where I made the updates and save the main Excel file. I want to do this vs. having to actually go into the Excel file and look up each name individually to make the updates as that could take hours. Was hoping I could shortcut using Alteryx with a specific workflow? 

JBO
8 - Asteroid

I think it depends on what you are trying to update. I can think of many ways to do it. Can you provide an example of the data in the field you need to update and what you want to update it to?