Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Inputting multiple uniquely structured files at once

serendipitytech
8 - Asteroid

So I'm brand new to Alteryx (2nd day with it), and I'm hoping to be able to streamline a process we have in place for consuming data from customers. 

The customer sends us 5 files, each file contains a different set of data, but there are some common fields among the files. The task at hand is to analyze the 5 files and ensure that the data matches among the files. For example, the file files are:

Customer info

Manager info

Location info

Schedule info

Group info

Each file has a different number of fields and different amounts of data. For example, one of our customers might send us a Customer file with only the bare minimum of fields (name, dob, gender, address), which others send us much more info on each customer. They can send us this info in a multitude of formats, with or without headers, and with columns in different orders (regardless of the templates and requests we send for the data). Handling the fact that the data can come to us in a variety of formats I assume will be a much more complex issue, so for this I will focus on the customer that send us the data as we ask for it: tab delimited text file with headers.

In that case, I need to input the 5 files, then run some analysis to ensure that the Customer ID in the customer file is the same as the customer ID in the schedule and location files, as sometimes we get customers who send us the file and one will have a leading 0 and the other will not. I also need to be able to identify any occurrences of an ID in one file that do not appear in the other from both directions.