Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

In-DB tool to write SQL

Glopez76
6 - Meteoroid

Hello,

I am new to Alteryx and I am building a workflow to extract data from a MS SQL Server database and import it into Teradata, where the data needs to go through a process of data manipulation.

For the Teradata import piece, I am using the Connect In-DB tool.  The problem is that I cannot find a tool that connects to the Connect In-DB tool and that allows me to paste my Teradata SQL code to perform the data manipulation.  I am looking for something similar to the Input or Output data tools where there are sections to write the SQL code but that can be used with the In-DB tools.

7 REPLIES 7
alexnajm
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

The Connect In-DB tool is your way to paste in that code similar to the Input Data tool!

Glopez76
6 - Meteoroid

Thank you.

This code runs fine in Teradata but I am getting all sorts of errors when trying to run the code in Alteryx, though.  I am wondering if there is some other tool that I can connect to the Connect In_DB tool and that can help me with the troubleshooting process.

For example, I am trying to run the below code in the Connect In_DB tool but it is giving me the attached error message.

/*Creating a working table to perform all the data manipulation and processing in Teradata.*/

DROP TABLE [DB].GL_Alteryx_Work;

/*To create a working table with all the data from the previous table*/
CREATE MULTISET TABLE [DB].GL_Alteryx_Work AS(
    SELECT  
        CASE 
            WHEN Length ("DateTime") = 23 --To account for bad data-DateTime fields containing extra characters                THEN Cast ("DateTime" AS TIMESTAMP(3) FORMAT 'YYYY-MM-DDBHH:MI:SS.S(3)')
            WHEN Length ("DateTime") <> 23
                THEN Cast(Cast("Date" AS DATE FORMAT 'YYYY-MM-DD') AS TIMESTAMP(3) FORMAT 'YYYY-MM-DDBHH:MI:SS.S(3)')