Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

How to return multiple values in 1 "if " statement

shailendra88
6 - Meteoroid
Hi all, I am new to alteryx. Please help me with below. question :- if USER=ABC then return ID=10,20,30 ELSE 40,50,60 END IF please help me achieve this. thanks in advance.
7 REPLIES 7
messi007
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

@shailendra88,

Could you please give more details with a sample input of the data and a sample of what you expect to have.

Best Regards,

echuong1
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

If I understand what you're looking for, you were on the right track. Place strings in quotation marks. You can set your output field in the expression.

Hope this helps!

echuong1_0-1613498089670.png

shailendra88
6 - Meteoroid
Please find data as below:_ user id abc 10 abc 20 abc 30 abc 40 xyz 10 xyz 20 xyz 30 in workflow I want to pass only User ="ABC" and ld 10 , 20 and 30. So I was trying IF statement in filter and formula, both of then individually Like :-for ID column :- if User="ABC" then (10 or 20 or 30) else [id] endif
pedrodrfaria
13 - Pulsar

@shailendra88 Are you trying to do something like this?

pedrodrfaria_0-1613681233685.png

Pedro.

shailendra88
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks, 

is there anyway i can write your statement in IF statement, so that in future if i want to process other user also it should not block them, like for USER=‘ABC’ then it will process only 10,20 and 30 but if i get any other User then it should not block them, 

Like if I get user EFG then it should process all the related id.

i thinks if we write your statement under IF or IIF or SWITCH that can resolve the issue,

but I am not able to do so.

I tried as below:-

IF USER=“ABC” then ID IN(10,20,30)

else ID

ENDIF

APOLOGY if i am not able to explain properly.

shailendra88
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks a lot,