Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to check if a column exists in a table & dynamically lookup value from another table

rajdaiya
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Alteryx community, Im fairly new to Alteryx and have been stuck on a particular problem for a while now.

Consider an example:

Table 1 consists of these columns

rajdaiya_0-1637117001798.png

And Table 2 consists of these columns:

rajdaiya_1-1637117062838.png

Constraint: Both these column names are generated dynamically when a workflow runs and these column names keep changing every time I run the workflow for a different dataset for a different timeperiod.

My question is how to lookup values for Table 2 from Table 1 (ie if column name exists copy+paste values for respective dates) else keep null. Please help me out? I would really appreciate it.

So I am looking for a solution which checks CIN, SOC and TV from Table 2 have corresponding values in Table 1 for those dates, and fetches those numbers and populates in table 2. Since VOD and PART dont exist in Table 1, keep them null or 0

7 REPLIES 7
cmcclellan
13 - Pulsar

Your constraint makes it very difficult/impossible to do this consistently.

The quick answer is to join the 2 tables together, but if the column names keep changing then you can't even do that 😞 

Nada__Alkhalaf
5 - Atom
Christina_H
14 - Magnetar

You say the column names are generated dynamically - is there logic to the names?  Could you use a dynamic rename tool to give them standard names so that you can use a join tool?

afv2688
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hello @rajdaiya ,

Interesting question. Was able to produce a dynamic joiner which would update and take always the values from the left table and update the right table. I use in this case the date as the joiner and take all the data from the table 2 together with the joined one (right join basically)

Untitled.png