Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Fuzzy Match Custom Configurations

whitkrieng
8 - Asteroid

Hi all,

I've been trying to custom set a Fuzzy Match for an "Address" field with all kinds of variations mainly tweaking the "Generate Keys", "Match Function", and "Match Thresholds" modules .  

I have created two examples with one being too strict not including an Address match that it should have, while another is too lenient, appearing to even include a match just based on the Address Number.  

The too lenient one, if I increase the Match threshold to say 90%, it would actually remove a legitimate match (1234 w main st).  

I am looking at some tips or maybe there's a different type of combo that will help resolve this and find that happy medium. I am not an expert at all using say "Word" vs. "Character" and Jaro vs. Levenshtein. 

As an FYI, all these addresses have been hashed in a way for mock purposes.  

Thanks all for your help and time. 

7 REPLIES 7
whitkrieng
8 - Asteroid

Bumping it up for any tips on how to best customize a Fuzzy Match or Addresses.

whitkrieng
8 - Asteroid

I know Fuzzy Match might require some more specialized knowledge.  If anyone has any thoughts, appreciate it. 

FrederikE
13 - Pulsar

Hey @whitkrieng,

See how I would do it in the attached WF. There it should work with your examples, you could check if it also works well for the correct data. 

FrederikE_1-1663602865371.png

Otherwise, if you further want to improve it, I can recommend a blogpost i wrote to you: https://www.thedataschool.co.uk/frederik-egervari/understanding-fuzzy-logic.

This might help you, as it explanes what the different algorithms do and how the keys are generated, but it might require a lot of thought and time to really improve the results.