Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Find Redunant Device Combinations

ScottC1971
7 - Meteor

Good Morning,

I am going to apologize in advance for a lack of detail when describing my issue but this is problem my company is trying to solve.  I am new to Alteryx and I am looking for ideas on how to solve this issue.

Being new to Alteryx, I am not sure what is the best way to solve this problem and set up the data so that it can be visualized in Tableau, so I am looking for ideas from you all.

The topic of this post is Wireless Devices.  What we are trying to do is to find employees who have more than one device and to look at the combination of devices they are assigned so that managers can determine if they are "redundant" or not.  Example, an employee who is assigned an iPhone and iPad should not have data usage on the iPad as the iPhone can be used as a "hot spot" to power the iPhone.   So rather than paying $70 a month of cellular service for that employee,  they can pay $35.

Attached is an example data set:

Employee 1 - is good because the iPhone is the only device of two devices that has data usage

Employee 2 - needs to be "flagged" becuase of more than one satellite phone and becuase the data usage for the sat phones is zero

Employee 3 - needs to be "flagged" because the combination of iPhone and iPad but also becuase the iPad has data usage

Employee 4 - needs to be "flagged" becuase the he/she has 1- iPhone, 2 -iPads with data usage, and a wireless hotspot (aka MIFI). Without some sort of justifcation, the devices assigned need to be scaled back.

In almost all of these cases there needs to be a conversation between employee and managerir manager to have.  I just need to  the situation "flagged" so that a manager can look at a dashboard and see some combinations or conditions.