Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Filter tool cannot be configured

beckytan0306
5 - Atom

Hi friends, 

I am fairly new to Alteryx and hope you can help me with the questions. I am trying to use the filter tool however there is no drop down available to configure it. Screenshot below. I've tried restart the program but it didnt work either. What's the solution to it? 

Thanks, 

B

beckytan0306_0-1625994338811.png

8 REPLIES 8
Elias_Nordlinder
11 - Bolide

Hello @beckytan0306,

Have you tried to run the workflow?
This Error message usually comes up when you have not run a workflow yet

after that you have inserted the tool, because the metadata have not yet populated the Filter Tool.

See this response as well to the same question by MarqueeCrew:

https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Designer-Discussions/Filter-tool-this-tool-has-not-been-con...

If there still is a problem after you run the workflow, let me know.

//Best Regards
Elias

beckytan0306
5 - Atom

Thanks @Elias_Nordlinder for the response. Yes, the error message persists after running the workflow. I've attached my file here. The goal I want to achieve here is to filter row 2. Thanks!

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

HI @beckytan0306 

Which version of Alteryx are you using?  You also seem to be on a MAC, so how are you running Alteryx?  I'm not really familiar with macOS but your answers may help others figure out what's happening.  What version of macOS? Are you using Parallels? A VM? Are you using an M1?