Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Extract UK Postcode from string

RDF25087
8 - Asteroid

Hi -

Apologies, I'm very new to Alteryx and still learning! I have a data source with a list of customer addresses, e.g.

Bob Jones Investments Ltd / Rainham RM12 8RS

I need to do two things...

1. Extract the full postcode to a new column, e.g. RM12 8RS

2. Then extract the postcode area to another column, e.g. RM

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

RDF

6 REPLIES 6
AngelosPachis
16 - Nebula

Hi @RDF25087 ,

Do you mind trying the following method and see if that works for you?

The workflow uses two RegEx tools, the one to parse out the full postcode and the other to parse the postcode area.

Assuming that postcodes in the UK are two string, the first having 2-4 characters and the second string having three characters, I used an expression:

.*\s(\w{2,4} \w{3})

That will give you any alphanumeric character that comes after a whitespace, and is consisted out of a first string between 2 and 4 and a second string with 3 alphanumeric characters.

AngelosPachis_0-1612785519784.png

Parsing the postcode area was easier, as you only want to keep the uppercase letters from the first part of the string.

Cheers,

Angelos

RDF25087
8 - Asteroid

Hi Angelos -

I have used your solution below on my data and it seems to work perfectly! I would never have been able to sort that issue out on my own!

For my understanding, could you explain how your solution works so I can begin to understand how the formula works?

Thanks again

RDF

AngelosPachis
16 - Nebula

Hi @RDF25087 ,

The formula works by defining an expression that matches a part of the string you want to parse out.