Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Creating a list of all excel sheets in a directory

carrera
5 - Atom

Hi all,

I am a total newbie in Alteryx Designer and need your help. I would like to create a list with all sheets of excel files from a directory. I am not interested in the content of the sheets (yet). I just want a list in the form:

RecordSheet NamesPath
1Sheet 1...\file1.xlsx|||'Sheet 1$'
2Sheet 2...\file1.xlsx|||'Sheet 2$'
3Sheet 3...\file1.xlsx|||'Sheet 3$'
4Sheet 1...\file2.xlsx|||'Sheet 1$'
5Sheet 2...\file2.xlsx|||'Sheet 2$'
6Sheet 1...\file3.xlsx|||'Sheet 1$'
7Sheet 1...\file4.xlsx|||'Sheet 1$'

I tried a batch macro for this: Read in Multiple Excel Files, with Multiple Tabs that have Different Schemas (alteryx.com) but omitted the second part (macro), since I don't want to open the sheets.

Unfortunately, this does not work as desired. Does anyone have an idea how to solve this?

14 REPLIES 14
apathetichell
18 - Pollux

You basically want a directory tool hooked into a batch macro - macro is set up for input and just takes the sheet names  from the batch macro and choose the "sheet names only" option. - then a macro output... Kinda like the attached file...

carrera
5 - Atom

That's what I was looking for! Thank you!

vbmike73
7 - Meteor

First of all, thank you for this solution. I downloaded it and after changing the path in the Directory tool, it does exactly what I want it to do. The only thing that puzzles me is that the Input Data tool in the macro has a path to a file on your C-drive, or at least that's what appears to be the case, since I don't C:\Users\micha folder. C:\Users\micha\Downloads\XML STR008R2_Excel.xlsx

When I change the file in this tool to something on my system, the macro stops working. I can't figure out how it can work only with this file. I must be missing something. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

TimN