Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Copy Excel File and Move to Folder

tolson
5 - Atom

Hello all,

I am very new to Alteryx and have the following problem. I have several hundred excel files that are located in different folders.  They all have the same name except for the first word. Is there a way to copy those files and place them in one consolidated folder?

6 REPLIES 6
joelmiller66
9 - Comet

Hi @tolson - The process of 'copy/pasting' within your machine environment would be more of an RPA (Robotic Process Automation) process.

joelmiller66_0-1662752325157.png

In Alteryx if you want to read in files from folders the tool you would start with the Directory Tool found in the In/Out Category. This tool will return a list of files located in folders which you then can use Alteryx to read in those files.

Within the Directory Tool you have the ability to pinpoint the files you are trying to read in. It sounds like you will want to use the wildcard (*) at the beginning and then put the rest of the file name in the File Specification. And since you have multiple folders, you would also want to check the 'Include Subdirectories'.

joelmiller66_1-1662752412600.png

odonoghn
5 - Atom

You can get the filepath for each of the files using a Directory tool, assuming the files are generally going to be in the same area (and if they are all in subfolders of a specific folder you can flag the tool to include Subdirectories). Alteryx by default doesn't delete the files, so you would need some other way to get rid of the old files like a .bat file in a Run tool. Blob input and Blob Output tools will let you move the existing files, however, without changing them.

DavidSkaife
13 - Pulsar

Hi @tolson 

Moving files can be done using the Blob tools, please see attached sample workflow.