Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Combining multiple fields (first name, late name, title) in a specified location (full nam

Debashiss
6 - Meteoroid

Hi, I am a newbie in Alteryx and need help even with the simplest operation. How do I combine 3 fields (first name, last name, title in columns A, B and C) and populate the full name in a prespecified empty column (column D)

7 REPLIES 7
DataNath
17 - Castor

Hey @Debashiss, for combining string elements like this you can simply 'add' them together with +. You'll want to put some spaces in there as well though so if you place a Formula tool on your canvas and select [Column D] from the dropdown (as you're amending this), you can just use an expression like so:

[Column C]+' '+[Column A]+' '+[Column B]

I've assumed you wanted it in the format of title - first name - last name, but obviously feel free to rearrange if not. Hope this helps!

Debashiss
6 - Meteoroid

@DataNath, thank you for your help. The workflow ran but the destination data column did not populate. I am sending screenshots

Debashiss
6 - Meteoroid

Never mind @DataNath. I think it's because I hadn't completed an output path. Now it works. Thank you SO much. Have a good weekend.

DataNath
17 - Castor

Hey @Debashiss, from your 'Dataview' screenshot I can see that you're looking at the input anchor of the Formula tool i.e. what is going in before your expression runs (the blank field). If you hit the green anchor on the right hand side of the tool (output) you'll be able to see the new, populated field after the expression! Can also press here in the results window (red box):

1.PNG

Debashiss
6 - Meteoroid