Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Calculate Number of Days and Months to match Excel output

Astro55
8 - Asteroid

I'm very new to Alteryx and trying to create a workflow. My data set contains start and end dates for various projects. I need to calculate the number of days and the number of months between the beginning and end dates of each project. 

Issue:
I am getting variances between the Excel and Alteryx calculations. While minor, they can add up to a material impact on my calculations. I figured out how to tweak the Alteryx formula for "number of days" to match my Excel output, but I can't figure out how to do the same for number of months.

Questions:

1. Can you please help me figure out how to get my Alteryx calculation to match my Excel calculation/ output? 

2. Is the "unedited" Alteryx calculation more accurate than my Excel calculation?

Details:

1. Formulas used to calculate the number of days per:
    • Excel: End Date - Start Date + 1

• Alteryx: DateTimeDiff([Project End Date_Out],[Project Start Date_Out],'Days') + 1 
                     (Note: The "+1" is to get the Alteryx output to match Excel)

2. Formulas used to calculate the number of months per:
    • Excel: DATEDIF(0,*Number of days*,"M")

• Alteryx: DateTimeDiff([Project End Date_Out],[Project Start Date_Out],'Months') 

Question.jpg

12 REPLIES 12
BRRLL99
11 - Bolide

To get the Alteryx calculation to match your Excel calculation/output for the number of months, you could use the following formula in Alteryx:

Floor(DateTimeDiff([Project Start Date_Out],[Project End Date_Out],'day')/30)