Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Weekly Challenges

Solve the challenge, share your solution and summit the ranks of our Community!

Also available in | Français | Português | Español | 日本語
IDEAS WANTED

Want to get involved? We're always looking for ideas and content for Weekly Challenges.

SUBMIT YOUR IDEA

Challenge #131: Think Like a CSE... The R Error Message: cannot allocate vector of size...

JonathanRichey
7 - Meteor

Spoiler

Disclaimer… I have never used these predictive tools, this is my first attempt at a weekly challenge.

I was able to replicate the error. The issue is not bringing in the data from the same point (selection tool). I am assuming the user was using the select tool to change the data type therefore there were two different data types coming into the Append Cluster tool.

Spoiler
predictive.PNG
Spoiler
Solution.PNG

kat
12 - Quasar

Never used the tool before...

Spoiler
It looks like the dataset is too big for the tool. Here are a few suggestions on how to fix this. You could insert a select tool before the append (from the CSV) and optimise the field types. You could also try to append the clusters to the data in batches.

I'd recommend only sending a sample of the data in first. If this resolves the problem we'll know that it's due to the size and can work from there.

If you don't come right, could you send screenshots of the tool configurations? Perhaps we can optimise those a little as well.
PhilipMannering
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula
Spoiler
I also struggled to replicate this error. Even with bumping up the number of records to over 13 billion my laptop seemed content to chug away at the clustering indefinitely. On the plus side I've learnt how to create my first unsupervised classification model in Alteryx. 

13 billion records. but no error.13 billion records. but no error.
NicoleJohnson
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus