Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Installer for C#/C++ custom tool

360Andy
7 - Meteor

Hi,

I'm new to the Alteryx Community, so forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place.

I have developed a custom tool for Alteryx with a C# GUI and a C++ engine.

But I'm not sure of the best way to create an installer for it.

I have created an NSIS installer that lets the user choose an installation folder and then I write an ini file to <Alteryx>\Settings\AdditionalPlugins like:

[Settings]

x64Path=C:\InstallFolder
x86Path=C:\InstallFolder
ToolGroup=Preparation

This works well enough, however it doesn't seem to provide a mechanism for me to specify a tooltip description of the tool. The only way I can find to specify a description is to add a Node to <Alteryx>\bin\RuntimeData\DefaultSettings.xml like:

<Node MergeId="tool.name" Description="Tool Name">
    <Group>Preparation</Group>
    <Metatag>deduplication| data</Metatag>
    <Tooltip>
        <Description>Description of the tool.</Description>
    </Tooltip>
</Node>

But I'd rather not have to edit DefaultsSettings.xml - it doesn't seem like the right thing to do.

The .yxi tool installer looks promising as it uses a Config.xml that specifies: Description, ToolVersion, etc. but this only seems to support JavaScript plugins and Macros. Can this support dll based tools?

I watched a video of the "Unlocking the Secrets of the Alteryx APIs and SDK" from London Inspire by @TashaA but that didn't really have much to say about custom tools built using the C#/C++ SDKs.

What is the best way for me to install my custom tool and specify a tooltip description?

(None of the SDK Sample tools have a tooltip description).

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me.

5 REPLIES 5
jdunkerley79
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

Unfortunately, as it stands that is the only way.