Right now, the power to solve new global challenges across industries, is at your fingertips, no matter where you're working from. Create a new topic or reply to an existing thread to share your perspective.

Industry Discussions

Share resources, connect with others, and discuss industry-specific challenges.

Anyone in supply chain careers use Alteryx?

kevinmoc08
6 - Meteoroid

Hello. I am a student at Cal State Fullerton about to graduate with my Bachelors in Accounting and Business Management. I have taken an interest in a career in supply chain management, so I took a class that my university offers called emerging technologies in accounting, which introduces students briefly to stuff like Alteryx, UIPath, Power BI, Python, and Tableau. I know that Tableau, Power BI, and Python can all be used in careers in supply chain, but has anyone used Alteryx in supply chain? If so, how has it benefited you and what do you use it for?

8 REPLIES 8
MeganDibble
Alteryx Community Team
Alteryx Community Team

Hi @kevinmoc08,

Before Alteryx, I worked as a data analyst at Stanley Black & Decker and worked with their supply chain team to tackle their data needs. Some things I did in Alteryx:

• use multiple database connections and Alteryx tools to automate vendor mapping (master data management can be tricky in supply chain--vendors show different versions of names in different systems)
  • set up logic in Alteryx to output data for a dashboard about demand we generated for our suppliers (the ERP system would change requirements, and the supply chain team needed to get ahead of this and track demand against their capacity)
  • automate common data requests that would normally take more time in Excel or MS Access (often the information they needed came from a combination of many tables) 
kevinmoc08
6 - Meteoroid