General Discussions

Discuss any topics that are not product-specific here.
SOLVED

Grassroots: A Model for Rapid Alteryx Deployment, Part 1

bryanbumgardner
8 - Asteroid

My name is Bryan and I am a Senior Data Scientist at Digitas, a global digital marketing agency. I recently presented with my boss Vice President / Group Director Lora Kaye at Inspire 2018 about our "grassroots" approach to Alteryx software deployment, and the response from the community has been incredible. At Digitas, we implemented a new bottom-up approach to change management and software deployment, bringing Alteryx from ten users to 150+ and two servers in seven months. 

Because of the overwhelming interest in our presentation and follow up requests, I'm putting our presentation and findings into a series of Community posts both as a reference and to start a discussion.

Table of Contents:

Grassroots Part 1

Grassroots Part 2

Grassroots Part 3

The Software Survey

Grassroots, Part 1

teamwork.png

Does this sound familiar?

You work on an analytics team doing great work. However, you've noticed that 80% of your time is spent cleaning data, and only 20% of your time on insights. Your analysts are outgrowing Excel - they consistently crash the program and are always talking about eventually "taking a class in SQL". Dissatisfaction with increasing manual work has caused turnover on your team.

You know that bringing in Alteryx would immediately have an impact, but you face some challenges:

Fear of change: Not everyone thrives in change, and some people might think the current status quo is fine. Bringing in Alteryx means people have to change and grow - for the people who are comfortable, this isn't a good thing.
Lack of time: You have quarterly, weekly, daily deliverables that are due and you don't have time to shut down even part of the operation while you train them on Alteryx and move their processes to the platform.