Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!
Free Trial

Forum - Deutsch

Suchen Sie nach Antworten, stellen Sie Fragen und teilen Sie Ihr Alteryx-Wissen.
GELÖST

split up and encode different values from one cell to several columns (normalize + encode)

Seccoboi
Atom

Dear Community,

I am very new to Alteryx and seem to have a pretty complex question in my first project I want to realize.

To give you a clue what I am asking about, I will provide you example data as a screenshot and as an excel file attached to this topic.

Bildschirmfoto 2021-01-05 um 21.45.17.png

In order to use this Data, which is derived from a survey, to analyze correlations between for example the size of the company (which was another question in the survey) and the activities they perform (as seen in this screenshot), I would need to first encode this data into numbers. At lest that's what I learned. But before I can encode this data, I (in my opinion) need to logically split up this data into several columns to see which features on their own are correlating and not a combination of features. So my question basically is, if there is a way to do so?

To maybe give you more options in order to help me, I will explain two methods that came into my mind in order to reach my goal, which I was not able to realize in Alteryx so far. The first one would be to create new columns that are named as all options available in all cells above that I want to split up and then for each row to put a 1 into the column if it is part of the cell I want to split and a 0 if not. The second one would be kind of a database approach to normalize this table. I would create new tables with all possible options of the cells I want to split up, give them an ID and then join them via foreign keys. But I think this second option would not help me to encode in a way that I can calculate correlations.