Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Engine Works

Under the hood of Alteryx: tips, tricks and how-tos.
RithiS
Alteryx
Alteryx

I remember the first serious reason I used Excel. It was autumn 2005, I was a college freshman, and had major aspirations: becoming a professional poker player. That was around the peak of poker. Chris Moneymaker and Greg Raymer won in 2003 and 2004 respectively. The first place prize for 2006 World Series of Poker Main Event was $12,000,000. I was engrossed in it playing with friends, family, and strangers both online and in-person.

As a video gamer, I’m used to having my “stats” tracked so I wanted the same with poker. Excel was my first choice after seeing a friend create his own. It was designed to track session dates, times, and monetary returns while blending online and offline results. It was nothing spectacular since all it had were basic functions and a pretty format.

The spreadsheet revealed a few important findings. My monetary return over time was terrible. I couldn’t control the variance and wasn’t mature enough to handle it. Essentially, I wasn’t very good. Nothing hurts more than the shattered dreams of becoming a professional poker player (totally not hyperbolic).

MFW I realize I'm not good at poker.MFW I realize I'm not good at poker.

MFW I realize I’m not good at poker.

It was time to move on and evolve my dreams. I used to love sports (I still do, but used to too), so I set my goal to join the front office of the Denver Nuggets or Broncos. Neither gave me the time of day, so I moved on to the next best thing: fantasy basketball and football.