Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Engine Works

Under the hood of Alteryx: tips, tricks and how-tos.
EricaR
Alteryx
Alteryx

Like many of you, I am experiencing organizational change at my company in the new year.  Alteryx has a new CEO (Mark Anderson, best known for his work at Palo Alto) which means I have a new boss and a new way of doing things.  Naturally, this makes me wonder what this year will look like. I could gossip monger and make calls and try to figure this out in the standard ways, but hey… I’m a trained analyst. This is what data analysis is all about.  Let’s see what a quick, structured analytics project can tell me about what it will be like working for my new leader.

Reading reviews of my new CEO’s old company on Glassdoor or Indeed would potentially tell me what I want to know, but there are two small hiccups with just pulling up the sites and browsing: (1) there are a lot of reviews to read; and (2) it’s likely I would suffer from confirmation bias and see only what I want to see in these reviews.  Fortunately, I work at Alteryx and can easily apply some advanced analytics to see what the future holds.

On a Monday evening I pulled up Alteryx and had the answer to my question in 18 minutes. Yup, I timed it.  My very rough workflow was straightforward and required me to scrape the Indeed website for the reviews, filter them to when Mark was the president, visualize the general idea with a word cloud, then run sentiment analysis on each review to see if they were positive or negative.  These concepts sound time consuming or some may say difficult, but it truly was a breeze. Eighteen minutes, remember?

CristonS_0-1610140202292.png