Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Parsing Web Data with Commas Embedded In A Field

ssutton
6 - Meteoroid

I am relatively new to Alteryx and thus far been successful with most data parsing tasks.  I have recently started to experiment with some public data available from https://download.bls.gov/pub/time.series/ap/ and it has posed a challenge for me.

The file in question is located here:  https://download.bls.gov/pub/time.series/ap/ap.series

This file is a challenge because the "field" called series_title is filled with individual elements that are separated by commas. 

It is difficult for me to determine how best to read this file successfully using the "download" tool and properly parsing that particular LONG field.  If it has been "quoted" on both ends, it would be easier.  

The data from that file looks like the following:

series_id	area_code	item_code	series_title	footnote_codes	begin_year	begin_period	end_year	end_period
APU0000701111    	0000	701111	Flour, white, all purpose, per lb. (453.6 gm) in U.S. city average, average price, not seasonally adjusted	          	1980	M01	2017	M10
APU0000701311    	0000	701311	Rice, white, long grain, precooked (cost per pound/453.6 grams) in U.S. city average, average price, not seasonally adjusted	          	1980	M01	1981	M12
APU0000701312    	0000	701312	Rice, white, long grain, uncooked, per lb. (453.6 gm) in U.S. city average, average price, not seasonally adjusted	          	1980	M01	2017	M10

So my question is how would a person successfully read this file structure directly from the web?