Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Loop through SQL queries in an excel file to fetch data from a SQL database

Bhavika
8 - Asteroid

I'm new to Alteryx!

Having said that, i'm in a situation where i have an excel file (.xlsx) with 10-20 SQL queries to be executed to fetch data from a SQL database and produce separate excel outputs for each query results. Below is an example of the sql query i the excel file :

Select top 10 'def' as 'DEF', CRP as 'Entity', ACCT, ADJ form CTXAMT_2018

I'm also attaching a screenshot of my approach. But, i am stuck in how to make it loop through all the SQL queries. 

batch macro.jpg

Appreciate your help. 

Thanks.

17 REPLIES 17
LordNeilLord
15 - Aurora

Hey @Bhavika

You'll need to make this a batch macro and have your output tool within the macro.

Something like this:

SQLLoop.PNG

Bhavika
8 - Asteroid

Hey,

Thank you so much for your reply. But unfortunately, my organization has Alteryx designer 11.0 and so i'm unable to open the alteryx package you shared. :(

Can you please help me with any screenshots depicting the way you've configured the tools. Alternatively, is there a way i can open the package in my version of alteryx.

Appreciate your help.

LordNeilLord
15 - Aurora

Try this:

Bhavika
8 - Asteroid

Hi,

So the package opened now. Thanks for that. I tried configuring the workflow tool and the macro as per the situation. But, i get an error. I am clueless what i'm i missing.