Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Importing data into SQL Server from SalesForce

mdsalman1989
6 - Meteoroid

Hi, 

I am new to Alteryx as well as SalesForce. 
Currently, we are pulling data from salesForce via csv files , transforming the data in alteryx and then taking the data ahead in excel workbooks for reporting.

We are looking to pull the data directly into SQL server database, and performing transformation there only and reporting on data directly in sql server. 

I have a couple of doubts : 
1. Is it a good idea to use Alteryx for importing data from SalesForce to SQL Server ? 
2. If answer to Ques1 is 'Yes' : Any tips for having the load done in quickest time possible . 

6 REPLIES 6
NickC
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hello,

I would recommend connecting to the Salesforce connector and having a play around.  You can get Alteryx on a free trial for 2 weeks, try building the solution yourself.

This article will give you everything you need to know about Salesfroce. https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Knowledge-Base/The-How-to-Guide-to-the-Salesforce-Connector...

Why not perform some of the transformations in Alteryx as well?

Nick

mdsalman1989
6 - Meteoroid

Hello Nick, 

Thanks for providing suggestions. 

I am having a licensed version of Alteryx, and I did a small POC of pulling around 100K records ( ~300 MB) in SQL server on my local machine ( not a very powerful machine ) in 3.2 minutes. (Used Salesforce connector and ODBC database output  )

Is this good performance ? 

I was wondering are there any best practices which can enhance the performance ?