Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Dynamic Input with Excel Ranges: tool always reads whole worksheets, not ranges

Rikard112
5 - Atom

Greetings. Apologies if I am not being 100% precise with terminologies because it's my first time asking for help here. 

I have encountered what appears to be a bug with Dynamic Input tool when I try to read in multiple ranges from different workbooks. In the worksheet named "IFRS IS", a list of accounts with Line Number  exists in range P9:Q350, and that is how I set up the tool in the "Table or Query" field. I then clicked  the "Update Sample" below and it seems to work fine. (See the blue circles in the screenshots). 

However when I actually run this workflow, the tool magically then switch to read the whole worksheet, despite that the input I set up specifies it to read only the range. As seen in the red circles in the screenshot below (all the null columns are things I don't want in). 

I have attached my Workflow with this post along with a sample workbook (original one is actually .xlsm format; including only relevant tabs; other ones are exact same schema). 

I am using Alteryx version 10.6.8.17850

THank you very much!

Capture.PNGCapture.PNGCapture.PNG

2 REPLIES 2
jrgo
14 - Magnetar

@Rikard112,

The issue you described is persistent on my end as well (v11.5). However, I don’t believe it’s an issue with the your approach or the tools configuration.

Using a normal input tool and configuring it to read in the range on one of the sheets with the problem, it fails there also so there’s something on that sheet that is not allowing Alteryx to specify the range.