Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Data Science

Machine learning & data science for beginners and experts alike.
SydneyF
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

During my time as a graduate student, I learned to be pretty cheap frugal. This is a habit I haven’t been entirely able to shake off. Fortunately, I believe I can leverage my learned thriftiness for good.

Learning a new skill or trade can be expensive. Luckily in the age of the internet, it doesn’t have to be. Here is an index of no-cost resources for learning data science concepts and skills. I hope you find them helpful!

lecture.pngCourses in Mathematics, Machine Learning, Programming, and Data Science

Having a solid foundation in mathematics and computer science will only make you a stronger analyst and data scientist. If you need to brush up on some concepts, or even get exposed to them for the first time, many companies and universities have posted courses around mathematics and machine learning. 

MIT’s Open Courseware is a massive library of many different courses taught at MIT. Many of the classes can be very useful for brushing up on mathematics and computer science. There are two sections of courses particularly worth checking out.

• Mathematics > Probability and Statistics
  • Engineering > Computer Science > Algorithms and Data Structures / Artificial Intelligence / Data Mining

Kahn Academy is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to creating online resources for students. There are some posted mathematics courses that you might find helpful:

Three Blue 1 Brown is an awesome collection of videos posted on YouTube, focusing primarily on mathematical concepts. The Neural Networks series is particularly excellent.