Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

parsing JSON

CarCrazyAl
5 - Atom

I am brand new to Alteryx and am trying to prove out a particular Use Case.  I want to Source a JSON file, which includes a couple of nested objects, and ultimately store the data in tabular form in an Azure SQL DB.

Using an Input Data component, I connect to a sample JSON file.  However, I don't know what to do next!  I connect a JSON Parse component, which sort of seems to work.  The JSON_Name Input flag shows my data, but everything is prefixed with "0.", meaning I see 0.id, 0.key, etc.  

Running the Workflow returns 2 error messages on every field:
    Invalid value at character position: 0

The document root must not be followed by other values, at character position: 1

I have attached the .json file I am working with and hope someone can help me figure this out.

Thank you!

7 REPLIES 7
LordNeilLord
15 - Aurora

Hey @CarCrazyAl

The number you see is a record grouping which will allow you to turn the data back into a tabular format.

I have attached an example for you

ParseJson.PNG

CarCrazyAl
5 - Atom

@LordNeilLord - thank you very much for your response!  You put that Workflow together VERY QUICKLY!  At this point I do not completely understand what you did & how you broke it all down, but will review and work through your solution.

Thanks again!

LordNeilLord
15 - Aurora
Hey no worries!

Just ask if you have any questions :)

Neil
Ddee
5 - Atom

Thanks @LordNeilLord - this is the only place I've seen the need to use Summarize before the JSON Parse tool to get it all on one line!

Easy once you know, frustrating if you don't!

GreggD
8 - Asteroid