Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

isnumber(v) isn't recognising a number

GaryKennedy
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Alteryx Community,

I am new to Alteryx so apologies if my question is basic.

I want column named "Replacement" to populate with True if there is a number in field "replacement order#" and to populate with False if a letter is in column "replacement order#"

I tried ISnumber[replacement order#] but it is showing 0 for all entries.

One of the numbers I am trying to return as True is is "40116486, 142698960".

I appreciate any help on this.

Regards,

Gary

10 REPLIES 10
john_miller9
11 - Bolide

@GaryKennedy

If the field in question has a mix of letters and numbers it's likely formatted as a String or V_String type.  You might be better off using a regular expression to parse this out to see if it contains a number.

jm

GaryKennedy
6 - Meteoroid

Yes the column is a V String type. I am not familiar with regex, can you provide some more detail as to how to parse this out please?

MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus
Regex_countmatches("[^0-9]")=0
Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and restart. Order shall return.
Please Subscribe to my youTube channel.
GaryKennedy
6 - Meteoroid

I'm not sure if I did that correctly, sorry I am a complete beginner. 

I am aware that the "replacement order" column contains numbers, how do I return "True" in the separate "replacement" column and "False" if there are letters showing?

When I try the Isnumber after the regex parse I am getting a Parse error at char(30): parse expression#1) on the isnumber formula field.

john_miller9
11 - Bolide