Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Question W/ Macro "questions"

DerekVance
5 - Atom

Hello!

So I am fairly new to Alteryx and I am playing around with the macro functionality. Right now I am trying to set up a macro for doing comparisons on data I have loaded.

Currently I have a list boxes that you select fields from the macro input to be evaluated. Then I have piped the questions over to a formula node that I want to concat all of the fields together so that I can feed it into a hash generator. So far I figured out I can get the name of the fields into the formula, but not the value. In "pseudocode", I am looking to do something like this:

FormulaColumn = JOIN(programatically join fields from [#1])

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
darryl5280
10 - Fireball

The “Basic Data Profile” tool located under “Data Investigation” and can output the field names for a Data Set.  All the others fields the tool generates can be seen here.

Attached is the sample workflow shown below.

FIeld Names.jpg

david_fetters
11 - Bolide

You have a list box that lets you select fieldnames, and your goal is to have it take the records you pass as a macro input and concatenate the values (for only the fields youve selected) into a single string, in the order in which the fields appear in your list box?

I think this is probably a use case for the dynamic formula macro that @MarqueeCrew has so graciously released to the community.  I'm not on my VM right now so I can't load up Alteryx, but perhaps he can stop in tomorrow to help you sort this out.  The dynamic formula macro will let you take those field names that you now have as data in your workflow and turn them back into a formula you can use on your data stream.