Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Output different files to multiple tabs in an Excel file

bjmdm83
6 - Meteoroid

I am fairly new to Alteryx. I created a workflow and need it to separate the different Broker #'s data into different tabs and show the column totals at the bottom of the row for three separate columns in each of the tabs. The total needs to include a comma if necessary and $. I copied the formula from the knowledge base Everything You Need To Know About Adding Totals to the Final Row of Your Dataset into my workflow but I've done something wrong because the total shows up on a different tab and doesn't include comma's or $. 

Thank you,

Michelle

5 REPLIES 5
NicoleJohnson
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

Michelle,

Can you please attach a copy of your workflow so that we can troubleshoot? Hard to resolve if we can't see the configurations/etc. Thanks! :)

NJ

bjmdm83
6 - Meteoroid

Sorry about that. Here's a copy of my workflow.

Michelle Felipe
Sales Systems Analyst

estherb47
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi Michelle,

Welcome to Alteryx and welcome to the community!!!

You're so close! For Alteryx to include characters like a $ and/or comma, you need to output into a table (using the reporting tools) rather than using a standard Output tool that writes to Excel.

In the Table tool, you can configure your table to group by Broker. Then, set up a Column rule so that where a non-summarized field (in my attached workflow, Region) is blank, you insert the word Total instead.image.png

Next comes a Layout tool. The mode should be Each Individual Record, and the Layout Configuration is Vertical with Section Breaks