Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Decimal to Percentage

alexnajm
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hello everyone!

I was hoping y'all could help me out with a small problem. The data set I have has numbers as decimals (i.e. 0.75). I would like it to be presented as a percentage (i.e. 75%) when I use the Render tool to produce a report. I feel like there is a simple solution but I am very new to Alteryx so I thought I would try to use the community! Thank you for any and all help.

Best Regards,

Alex Abi-Najm

11 REPLIES 11
jamielaird
14 - Magnetar

Hey @alexnajm,

You'll need to use a Formula tool to create a string value.  This will work:

ToString([Percentage]*100)+'%'

To include decimal places in your formatted percentage just use the Round function after multiplying by 100:

ToString(Round(([Percentage]*100),0.1))+"%"

Cheers

alexnajm
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Thank you @jamielaird! That worked fantastically.

Best Regards,

Alex Abi-Najm

tom_montpool
12 - Quasar

@jamielaird's solution certainly works, however, I want to point out that the ToString function has the built-in ability to return a specified number of decimal places.

See the help link here -- ToString() Conversion

jamielaird
14 - Magnetar

All this time and I had no idea! Thanks @tom_montpool!

ToString(x, numDec, addThousandsSeparator, decimalSeparator)

Converts a numeric parameter to a string using numDec decimal places. By default, the period is used as the decimal separator.

ClosedOptional parameters
OpenExample

ToString(10, 0) returns 10 as a string.

ToString(10.4, 2) returns 10.40 as a string.

ToString(100.4, 2) returns 100.40 as a string.

ToString(1000.4, 2, 1) returns 1,000.40 as a string.