Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Converting a concatenated string variable into columns with booleans

talks2rocks
6 - Meteoroid

Hello, 

I'm kind of new to Alteryx and haven't yet gotten the hang of manipulated tables in the program

I was wondering if anyone knows of an efficient way to convert a variable that is a concatenation of non-exclusive attributes (such as a variable named  keywords that looks like this: "1920's|antique|american")  into columns with a binary variable (variables named keyword_1920's , keyword_antique and keyword_american  that are either TRUE or FALSE. 

First, I would need to find all the unique keywords currently concatenated in the various keywords strings 

Second, I would need to turn them into columns and append them somehow to the table. 

Third I would need to populate the fields of the newly created columns with TRUE or FALSE based on the keyword appearing in the concatenated string of that row.

Any Ideas?

Thank you,

Talks2Rocks

13 REPLIES 13
MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@talks2rocks,

Here's my take:  I grouped all of the keyword combinations together then added a lookup value (TRUE) for each incoming record.  Using a FIND REPLACE tool, I append the keyword and lookup value to each record.  Next I crosstab the data and then fill in the Null values as false.  It is likely easier for you to open the workflow, run it and watch each tool create output to see how this could apply.  I limit the data to ID and Keywords on input.  If you have more fields, I'd join back to that data after this process.

Capture.png

Cheers,

Mark

Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and restart. Order shall return.