Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Compare equal fields & other fields to filter spreadsheet

MKM
7 - Meteor

Hello! I'm new to Alteryx, so apologies if this is a repeat/dumb question!

I have an Excel spreadsheet that contains fields that include date, names, and statuses. The spreadsheet is pretty messy. It has multiple entries that are identical, but it also has nearly identical entries where a date field or a status could be different. What I'm trying to do is filter out those that are either identical dupes (keeping just one) AND filter out those that are slightly different and only keep the relevant one (be it on status and//or date, since both could be the driver of the difference, or together they both identify which record to keep). 

For example, one person could have two entries with the same name, date, but one entry could be "pending" and the other "approved." I'd like to be able to filter out "pending" since I'd want to keep approved when the information is the same. 

Is this type of filtering possible to do in Alteryx? I've mainly been trying in Excel, but it is super time consuming for a spreadsheet we receive and need to do this for every day, so I was hoping this could be done in Alteryx and save the expression for continual use

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
Joe_Mako
12 - Quasar

pri.png

One option is to use the Formula too to add a field, lets call it "Priority", with the expression:

Switch([Status],0,
"Pending",1,
"In Progress",2,
"Approved",3)