Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Analytics

News, events, thought leadership and more.
RishiK
Alteryx
Alteryx

Recently Alteryx and some of our customers (including McLaren) were featured on the BBC News website. If you haven’t seen it, check it out here.  This made me think about my journey and how I think I became a Citizen Data Scientist many years ago and I potentially didn’t know it.

CDS 1.jpg

Image Source: Gartner

I graduated as a Computer Science graduate, and luckily for me I knew I had a job lined up in consultancy before graduating.  [Side note: In the new way of working and since the global pandemic kicked in, it has been harder for graduates to do this. However, check out how Alteryx is helping you to get trained, enabled and upskilled to line up that opportunity in your career via our SparkED Program.]

I began work for clients in data warehousing projects, so I was exposed to data quite early in my career.  It was during my time in Investment Banking, where I saw something quite interesting as someone working in IT.  My internal clients/customers were the financial controllers who were tasked to produce reports for the regulators, on a daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annual basis.  Financial analysts wanted access to more and more data, and decisions were driven off this data.  They faced the traditional demise of us in IT handling data requests, generating a spreadsheet or compiling the data in a report.  The financial controllers would get the answers to their initial questions, but that’s all they would get.  The regulators were becoming more inquisitive in the data that was presented to them, and they’d ask subsequent questions after they analyze the data.

BigDatainBankingSector.png

Image Source: Data Science Central

Guess what?