Maveryx Success Stories

Learn how Alteryx customers transform their organizations using data and analytics.
STORIES WANTED

Showcase your achievements in the Maveryx Community by submitting a Success Story now!

SUBMISSION INSTRUCTIONS

A Lyft Driver Uses Assisted Modeling Beta to Help Predict Driver Profit

TaraC
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)
alteryx_logo.png
Overview of Use Case

Since I already have a Linear Regression model that helps me predict my next fare, the next logical step is to predict driver profit. To do this, I want to use logistic regression (driver profit = yes or no). But I want help doing some of the heavy "lyfting".

Describe the business challenge or problem you needed to solve

The analytics problems I am solving are: As a predictive analytics newbie, I want guidance so I don’t have to guess if I am on the right trail. Some of the things I want help with include getting my dataset in tip top shape for building a predictive model (this includes data prep), and deciding which columns are good features. I also want to build more than one model and compare them.

As a Lyft driver I am concerned about profit and not knowing if there are Lyft ride factors that add to or subtract from profit. I am particularly interested in getting guided assistance in building a predictive model. I want a guided interface that helps me as a newbie -- I just want to get started.

Describe your working solution

I am using the Alteryx Predictive Analytics Starter Kit as a resource for some of my data since it is difficult to find customer demographic data. Sources for Lyft ride data and driver profit calculations include personal data and data collected from internet reports and studies including publicly available "vehicle cost of ownership" data. I am using Excel spreadsheets and Alteryx databases.