alteryx server Knowledge Base

Definitive answers from Server experts.
Check out our powerful new search update! You can read more here. Please let us know if you have any feedback by creating a topic here.

How to Deactivate Users on Gallery (An Alternative to Deleting Users)

Alteryx Alumni (Retired)
Created

How To Deactivate Users on Gallery (An Alternative to Deleting Users)

 

If Gallery Admins would like to rescind access for specific Users on a Gallery, two methods are recommended. Deleting Users from Gallery is not supported and there is no Admin option available to delete Users entirely. The options outlined below will deactivate or revoke access.

 

Prerequisites

 

  • Product - Alteryx Server

 

Procedure A: Built-In Gallery

 

1. Navigate to the Subscription page under the Gallery Admin portal -> Subscriptions. Add a new subscription, specific for Deactivated Users.

 subscription.png

 

2. Add the User to the subscription by click either the Add Artisan or Add Member button.

add_userA.png

 

3. Navigate to the Users page under Gallery Admin portal -> Users. Change the role of the User to No Access.

deactivateA.png

**To see the 2018.4 version layout, select the Profile Button on the User. To revoke access, switch the Active button to No.

deactivateB.png

 

Procedure B: Windows Authentication Gallery

 

1. Navigate to the Subscription page under the Gallery Admin portal -> Subscriptions. Add a new subscription, specific for Deactivated Users.

subscription.png

 

2. Add the User to the subscription by click either the Add Artisan or Add Member button.

add_userB.png

 

3. Navigate to the Permissions page under Gallery Admin portal -> Permissions. Search for the User and choose No Access.

deactivateC.png

Comments
Asteroid

It should be noted that there is no way to deactivate or set a user to Inactive if gallery is configured to use Integrated Windows Authentication. All users will have a status of Active in MongoDB (the Diagnostic page will always show 0 Disabled users) regardless if a user is set to No Access.

 

Does moving a user who've published to the gallery into a different studio ("deactivated users" in this case) also move their workflows and schedules or does everything of theirs break/live in limbo land?

 

There's also no need to set a user to No Access under Permissions because once a user is no longer active in Active Directory, they can’t get through our network to launch the gallery.