ALTERYX INSPIRE | Join us this May for for a multi-day virtual analytics + data science experience like no other! Register Now
The Alteryx Community will be temporarily unavailable for a few hours due to scheduled maintenance starting on Thursday, April 22nd at 5pm MST. Please plan accordingly.

Alteryx Server Knowledge Base

Definitive answers from Server experts.

How To: Manage multiple versions of a workflow on Gallery

EricWe
Alteryx
Alteryx
Created
How To: Manage Multiple Versions of a Workflow on Gallery

After uploading a workflow to the Gallery, you can make changes and manage multiple versions. 
 
Prerequisites
 
  • Alteryx Designer
    • All Versions
  • Alteryx Gallery 
    • All Versions
 
Procedure

Once a workflow is published in the Gallery, you can download it for editing in Designer using the File > Open Workflow menu. Click on the option for your company's Gallery. 

idea Skyscrapers

After opening the workflow and making the needed edits, click on the Save button, and then the option to View in Browser. You will see the Latest and Published versions have both changed to the newly saved workflow, Version 2 in this example. 

idea Skyscrapers

Click on the version shown (hyperlink), and a window appears with buttons to Download, Run Selected Version, or Make Published Version. The buttons are enabled once a workflow is selected. The P icon shows the currently published version. 

idea Skyscrapers

When downloading a workflow with more than one version, select the Versions icon, and you can choose any of the workflows listed for editing. 

idea Skyscrapers

Note: The workflow must be downloaded from Designer followed by the Save button for multiple versions to exist. After using a download option in Gallery or selecting Save As in Designer, the workflow will be saved in Gallery as a separate item instead of a new version.