This site uses different types of cookies, including analytics and functional cookies (its own and from other sites). To change your cookie settings or find out more, click here. If you continue browsing our website, you accept these cookies.
on 02-15-201710:01 AM - edited on 01-17-201908:57 AM by SydneyF
How To: Create a Database Connection Share Through Gallery Admin
The Database Connection Share is a feature that will allow ease of access for your Alteryx users to your databases. The feature also allows the Alteryx Gallery and Database Administrators more governance over what connections are being made as well as who are making the connections. This article reviews the procedure for creating a database connection share through the Gallery Admin. Users will then be able to see these "Gallery" connections on their desktop version of Alteryx and connect to the database with the permissions granted by the Admin.
Database Name and Database Hostname, provided by the database administrator.
Log into your admin account on your private Gallery, and proceed to their Admin setup window:
You then see a field on the left-hand side called Data Connections.
Once in the Data Connections, you will have the option to create or edit existing connections:
When creating new data connections, choose the connection type you are going to use.
Note: The drivers will need to be installed on both the Gallery and the user's machine in order to use the connection.
Test the database connection:
Once the connection is tested and ready to go, you can select that data connection. Two tabs will show in the window, General Information, and Users and Studios. The users that you share the connection with will only see the Name field and none of the connection information.
When selecting the Users and Studios tab, the Admin will be able to see who currently has access to that connection are able to remove and add users to the connection. Note that users will have two profiles; one will be their Studio account which if the database connection is shared with the Studio, all of the users associated with that Studio will have access to that database connection. If you just want to share with the user, then select the user's account :
Once the connection is shared, the user will be able to look into their Saved Data Connections in the Input Data Tool. If they do not have access to the Gallery which the connection was established the user will have to Add a Gallery. Once they have access to the Gallery, they will see next to that Gallery name a new connection. The connection will show the name given and (Gallery):
The user can see all of the connections shared with them in the new Manage Data Connection located in the Options\Advanced Options menu in their Alteryx Designer.