ALTERYX INSPIRE | Join us this May for for a multi-day virtual analytics + data science experience like no other! Register Now
The Alteryx Community will be temporarily unavailable for a few hours due to scheduled maintenance starting on Thursday, April 22nd at 5pm MST. Please plan accordingly.

Alteryx Server Knowledge Base

Definitive answers from Server experts.

Error: "Workflow exceeded maximum runtime of 30 seconds and was cancelled" when running chained apps on the server.

ianwhite
Alteryx
Alteryx
Created

Environment Details


When running chained apps from the Server, the following error occurs:
 

Workflow exceeded maximum runtime of 30 seconds and was cancelled

 

It's also observed that custom settings in alteryx.config file are removed upon upgrade.
 

  • Alteryx Server
    • All Versions
    • alteryx.config file
  • Chained Apps
  • Server Upgrade


Cause


Cause 1

The option chainedTimeout is not set within the alteryx.config file.

Cause 2

A recent upgrade caused a prior adjustment not to persist within the file.

Resolution


Solution 1
 

1. On the Alteryx Server machine go to the following default folder:

 
Versions 2019.4 and lowerC:\Program Files\Alteryx\bin
Versions 2020.1 and higherC:\Program Files\Alteryx\bin\server\config


2. Locate the file alteryx.config:
 
  • Edit the file and add the following at the end of the line:
  • The line that starts with:
‹engine enableAutoLicensing="true" useServiceLayerComposer="true"›
  • Should look like this afterwards: 
‹engine enableAutoLicensing="true" useServiceLayerComposer="true" chainedTimeout="7200"›

3. Save the file and restart the Alteryx Service.


Solution 2

If you had this set previously and recently upgraded or changed versions of Alteryx Server, this will need to be re-added to the file. This files location has moved since 20.1, please see that versions release notes.


 

Additional Resources
 

Comments
revathi
8 - Asteroid

Super helpful post!

 

Does Alteryx intend to remove the default 30 second timeout from the product anytime in the future?

or Can we retain the config data from previous version even after the upgrade? That ways, we don't have to remember to enable all custom settings again. 

 

Thanks