This site uses different types of cookies, including analytics and functional cookies (its own and from other sites). To change your cookie settings or find out more, click here. If you continue browsing our website, you accept these cookies.
This is Part 2 of the Alteryx Gallery Series - The Gallery Series only refers to the Alteryx Server where you can host your Private Alteryx Gallery. This Article with refer to 'Alteryx Gallery' as a privately hosted Gallery on the Alteryx Server.
Each section of the user interface is outlined and described below:
Often utilizing and navigating the Private Alteryx Gallery for the first time (or even for veterans) can be difficult. This article aims to make this process simpler by giving a step-by-step guide on where to find the main areas of the Alteryx Gallery, as well as those hidden features.
Finding the Alteryx Gallery
The URL is typically the ServerMachineName(or IP)/Gallery unless another domain has been defined.
**** Speak to your IT or Alteryx Server Contact to find URL address.
If it is an internal server, the user will need to be logged into your organization’s VPN before accessing the Gallery.
Accessing the Gallery
User visits the Gallery on their own:
Depending on your pre-defined user authentication setting, the user may be granted access to the Gallery the first time he or she visits the URL.
If your Gallery utilizes Windows Authentication, a Gallery Account is automatically created when a new user visits the site.
If your Gallery utilizes Built-In Authentication, the new user may create their own Account profile by “Joining” the Gallery from the Gallery home page.
Gallery Admin invites user to the Gallery:
The Gallery Administrator may invite users to join the Gallery. This allows the Administrator to set up all of the users specific privileges before that user views the site.
If your Gallery utilizes Windows Authentication, the admin would enable “No Access”. You will receive no notification from Gallery once you have registered.
If your Gallery utilizes Built-In Authentication, the admin would disable the “Sign-Up Form” (Link to gallery admin page). The user will receive an invitation email and be asked to validate their account.
Lay of the Land: Everyday Gallery User
“HOME is where the heart is”
When you create a workflow, macro or app in the Alteryx Designer and upload in to the Alteryx Gallery you can CHOOSE to share your workflow to the Public Gallery (Home). You will need to be a Data Artisan to publish to the Alteryx Gallery (Link Permissions page).
Users with access to your Gallery URL may access the Public Gallery section. External users cannot view and run workflows in the Public Gallery unless they have been invited by an Admin and have network rights to access the Gallery website.
Users often upload proof of concepts or demo applications to the Alteryx Gallery which other users can use for reference.
Public Gallery section that have been tagged (after publishing) with a specific keyword set by the Gallery Administrator.
“The last of the thirteen DISTRICTS of Panem”
Districts are Alteryx workflows shared in the Public Gallery section that have been tagged (after publishing) with a specific keyword set by the Gallery Administrator.
Districts are used for housing macros which are used within different internal departments.
“Welcome to my Private Studio”
A user will ONLY receive their own Private Studio if their user permission level (set by the Alteryx Gallery Admin at sign up or before) are designated an DataArtisan User. This will allow them to publish Alteryx workflows from their Desktop Designer.
By default, a Data Artisan will only see the workflows they have published themselves in the Private Studio section. To see content created by other Data Artisans, a workflow may be shared in the Public Gallery or via a Collection or Studio.
"Brand new Insights"
New feature added in the Alteryx Server 2018.2 allowing you publish interactive charting directly into a web browser
This dashboarding features offers users the ability to filter and drill down into Analytical Insights
“You’re the chosen one, welcome to my Collection”
Collections are a means for ensuring only specific users may access workflows to which they are assigned.
Collections are managed by users NOT by the Gallery Administrator.
Collections are tied to one Private Studio only.
A user must have their own (paid) Private Studio OR be a member of another Private Studio in order to run workflows shared via a Collection.
Data Artisans can invite Users to a collection through the users tab inside of the collection. These Users will have to sign up to the Alteryx Gallery or be users in the same domain as the Alteryx Gallery is hosted on.