Alteryx Server Knowledge Base

Definitive answers from Server experts.

Alteryx Gallery Series - App Publishing & Version Control 101 (2020.1+)

SophiaF
Alteryx
Alteryx
Created

This is Part 3 of the Alteryx Gallery Series - The Gallery Series only refers to the Alteryx Server where you can host your Private Alteryx Gallery. This article will refer to 'Alteryx Gallery' as a privately hosted Gallery on the Alteryx Server. This series of articles is a revamp of the original Alteryx Gallery Series, updated with version 2020.1+.

 

Alteryx Gallery Series - App Publishing & Version Control 101

 

The main draw of the Alteryx Gallery (other than scheduling) is creating Analytic Apps!  Analytic Applications allow data analysts to parametrize Alteryx Designer workflows, so Business decision-makers can interact with a user-friendly interface and create custom reports faster on a daily, weekly or monthly basis, without needing to run Alteryx Designer locally. Additionally, Designer users can publish Workflows and Macros to make sharing content even easier.

Often these Apps need updating without interrupting end-user interaction. The version control offered in the Alteryx Gallery makes it easier to track application development and prevent disruption for the end-user. This article explains the conventions of uploading and apps and version control.

 

Before reading this article, there a few pre-requisites to ensure you can publish apps:

  • Your permission level is set as an Artisan (or higher) in the Alteryx Gallery (You cannot publish up to the Alteryx Gallery without this permission level).
  • The asset (Analytic App/Workflow/Macro) functions successfully from the Designer.

 

Publishing an Analytic App
 

  • Select File > Save As > select Private Gallery and select your Gallery's name to save the App to the Gallery for the first time.
  • You can then name the App and provide any comments or details specific to the version being saved.
  • Once you click Save, Alteryx will publish the workflow and validate that it runs without errors in your gallery environment.
 

 

 

  • If you are an Artisan in the Alteryx Gallery, you will have a Private Studio. The Private Studio will be your default location when uploading an App from the Alteryx Designer. You can only belong to one Private Studio at a time.

 

You want to publish to a Private Studio (Subscription)
 

  • The studio you belong to will populate in the ‘Location’ section when uploading to your company’s gallery.
  • If this does not populate with the correct studio name, contact your Gallery Admin.
  • When you  File > Save As > select Private Gallery and select your Gallery's name from the Alteryx Designer, you should see the studio (subscription) you belong to.
 

 

You want to Publish to a Collection
 

  • To publish to a Collection, you will need to have:
  • When you first upload your app to the Alteryx Gallery, it will ‘land’ in your Private Studio.
  • Navigate to the Collection you wish to share this workflow in. On the Workflows tab, select "Add to Collection".

 

Please note the 2020.x versions have made significant changes to the interface of this page


Additionally, if you have the Update Assets permission within the Collection, you have the ability to save a new version of a workflow directly to a Collection. To do this:

  1. Open the workflow in Designer via File > Open Workflow > and selecting your Gallery. You will see all the workflows that you have access to via a Collection.
  2. Select the workflow and click Open.
  3. Make the needed changes to the workflow, and click Save (don't select Save As - this will create a new copy of the workflow in your Studio).
 

You want to publish to the Public section of Gallery
 

  • If you choose to publish to the Public part of your Company’s Gallery, the App will be accessible to everyone who can access your Company’s Gallery. Users often upload to the public gallery if they are testing proof of concepts or uploading demo version of Apps.
  • To upload to the public gallery, you can upload to your private studio and then choose to share the app in the public gallery. 

 

I want to run this app with certain credentials
 

  • Depending on your gallery's configuration, you can manage certain 'Run As' credentials for certain Applications and Workflows ran on the Alteryx Server. 
  • There are few different configurations you can select when setting up the Alteryx Gallery. Speak to your Alteryx Server Gallery Admin if you are unsure which setting is available for you. See this article for more details:
  • If your Gallery has the option "Allow users to select credentials options", you will see the option "Set workflow credentials" under Workflow Options.

 


 

  • This will give the user three options:
 

 

  1. 'User is not required to specify credentials' - The application/workflow will run as the default Alteryx Server user account (Run As settings in system settings on server config). 
  2. 'User must specify their own credentials' - When running the application from the Alteryx Gallery, the users will have to enter in credentials. 

 

  1. 'Always run this workflow with these credentials' - The user can enter their credentials at this point.  Additionally, preset credentials can be added within the Alteryx Gallery Admin section (Credentials), and your Gallery Admin can give users access to these credentials.

 

Version Control
 

  • Workflows saved in the Alteryx Gallery can be shared with others who can then open them within the Alteryx Designer, make changes to them, and save them back to the Alteryx Gallery.
  • When changes to a workflow are saved back to an Alteryx Gallery, a new version of that workflow is created, and the previous version of the workflow is maintained.
  • When you publish a new version of a workflow, by opening the workflow in Designer and selecting Save, you will have the option "Publish this version of the workflow". By default, this option is checked. If you wish to publish the version but do not want the published version to become the active version, uncheck this box.
    • Note: When a workflow is scheduled, the published version of the workflow is the one that is executed.

IMPORTANT!

  • To re-version an app, you just need to hit the save icon in the Alteryx Designer once you have uploaded it to the Alteryx Gallery for the first time.
  • If you have already uploaded the app to the Alteryx Gallery and then go to File>>Save as>>>My Company’s Gallery, it will re-upload that same app twice, even if the name is the same. You can tell that you are saving a new version if the Workflow Name is greyed out.
 

  • To see the version, you can click on my company’s Gallery and it will populate with all the workflows, apps and macros. You can click on the version icon and access the various versions for that workflow, app or macro. You can also see which version is currently published (active).To change the published version, navigate to that workflow in your Gallery from a browser.

 

Additional Resources
 

No ratings