community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

alteryx server Ideas

Share your Server product ideas - we're listening!

Transfer Gallery to Other Users

When an artisan moves positions (within or external) away from their current responsibilities, their collections and workflows should be able to be transferred via an administrator to another user.

6 Comments
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)
Status changed to: Accepted

Hi @MarqueeCrew , thanks for the idea! This idea is part of a larger request around asset migration or transfer of ownership. This is something fundamental that we plan to account for down the road. Please keep the ideas coming as they help validate our plan.

Alteryx Certified Partner
Alteryx Certified Partner

+1


Alteryx Certified Partner
Alteryx Certified Partner

+100

Alteryx Certified Partner
Alteryx Certified Partner

Just posting a method proposed by Alteryx Support which may help some others who have stumbled across this post looking for a simple solution...

 

Officially there isn't any functionality currently available to move workflows between studio's/subscriptions. However, the development team did see a need to be able to do this in some circumstances. As such there is an unofficial function that will move the workflows given very specific criteria. Specifically the following most be true for this to occur.

  • The users current subscription must be set to free
  • The subscription they are moving to must be set to paid and not expired
  • The initial subscription must be empty after the user is moved
  • The user must be moved by manually updating the subscription/studio key in the users profile (in Admin panel user's section or from the User's settings). Using the Add Artisan button in the subscription settings will not trigger the workflow move.

If all of the above conditions are met when the user is moved then all workflows in the subscription will also be moved. The process is not reversible as the workflows will be merged into the existing studio, and this process is all or nothing so there is no way to split the workflows back out.


Again, this is not an official way to move it, more of an unintentional workaround that may work for you/your user.

 

Asteroid

+1

 

(and be able to keep the history of the workflow(s) in question with the transfer)

(and be able to reverse any moves w/o an act of god)

(and please & thank you)

Community Operations Manager
Community Operations Manager

@MarqueeCrew  This idea is still in the works here at Alteryx. We hope to have a feature like this in the near future. Thanks for your patience.