community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

alteryx server Ideas

Share your Server product ideas - we're listening!

Option to 'overwrite' workflows should be available when Saving-As to Gallery

When you save-as a workflow to an Alteryx Gallery, an option is not provided to overwrite an existing workflow with the same name if that workflow wasn't opened directly from the gallery (e.g., if it was opened from disk).  This is contrary to how almost every other application works and what you would intuitively expect, and leads to duplication of workflows on the Gallary.  For example, when using Tableau, a message would be provided such as "A workbook named ... is already in use. Overwrite it?"  Or said another way, why does the Gallery allow multiple workflows of the same name to be published?  There seem to be multiple reasons why you may want to save a workflow locally prior to re-uploading to server, including saving during the change process when you don't want updates to be published until they are fully complete.  

I am aware that duplicate workflows can be cleaned-up on server (https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Server-Knowledge-Base/Clean-Up-Duplicate-Workflows-In-the-G...), but please consider changing the functionality within Designer to make this process more intuitive.  Thank you. 

2 Comments
Nebula
Nebula

Agree with this - if we use the upload API to automate SDLC migrations from dev to prod, this is an important capability to have.

Alteryx
Alteryx