The Product Idea boards have gotten an update to better integrate them within our Product team's idea cycle! However this update does have a few unique behaviors, if you have any questions about them check out our FAQ.

Alteryx Server Ideas

Share your Server product ideas - we're listening!
Submitting an Idea?

Be sure to review our Idea Submission Guidelines for more information!

Submission Guidelines

Globally Enable/Disable Artisans to publish workflows to Home Page (My Company's Gallery)

I work at a large organization where Security and Privacy are of utmost importance. The ideology that we need to follow is Least Privilege and Need to Know.

 

We (Curators) do not want all the Artisans to publish workflows to Home Page, either knowingly or unknowingly. We however do want to allow a few power users to publish their work in Home Page, but currently the Gallery does not provide the ability to pick and choose who can share workflows publicly. We are educating users to not share any contents publicly, but as we scale up, it will be difficult to manage and govern this.

 

I'm suggesting to implement a global Yes/No feature that will Enable/Disable Artisans to publish contents in Home Page (just like the way we have for Jobs/Scheduling feature). Further, in Users section, Edit User setting needs to have a Yes/No button that will allow Curators to let certain Artisans place workflows in My Company's Gallery.

 

Organizations that never want any workflow to be shared publicly can disable this feature using global Yes/No button. Organizations (like the one I work at) that want to enable this only for certain Artisans, can set the Global Yes/No to No, and then in Users tab, they can pick and choose the Users that need this functionality (which will override the global default). Finally Organizations that do not really care about this functionality can just set the global setting to Yes.

 

Hoping other organizations find value in this functionality as well. Thanks.

11 Comments
mcglyne
5 - Atom

This is a problem for my organization as well. An accident waiting to happen.   All we need is for a HR artisan to accidentally post a PHI workflow in the public gallery and then we have a privacy incident.

TanyaS
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)
Status changed to: Under Review

As we review our permission vs role strategy, this kind of feedback is invaluable. Thank you for posting!

piyush
6 - Meteoroid
Any update on the status of this change?
TanyaS
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Not yet. This request, should we do it, would not be handled individually, but as part of a bigger systemic change. As such, it requires careful evaluation.

 

Thanks,

Tanya

jamielaird
14 - Magnetar

+1 for this feature. If anyone can suggest alternative ways to control/limit the ability for users to publish to My Company's Gallery please let me know.

Emil_Kos
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Not sure if this is publicly available yet, but it definitely should be!


It sounds really simple to implement and at the same time, it can prevent leaking private data to users that shouldn't have access to view it. 

laineayx
Alteryx
Alteryx
Status changed to: Accepted
 
laineayx
Alteryx
Alteryx
Status changed to: Coming Soon
 
JOHN_sprocket_knuckle
6 - Meteoroid

Hi everyone, is the feature to disable saving a workflow to a public gallery available?

TheCoffeeDude
11 - Bolide

I'd love to see this feature back-ported to older versions of Alteryx Server.