Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Server Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Server.

Restrict access in Gallery to schedule private workflows?

IKMS
5 - Atom

Hi, 

I am totally new to scheduling workflows in a Gallery, and would therefore really appreciate some help on below if possible. 

I have created a few workflows that need to be scheduled. However, the problem is that the input and output files are located on private shared drives within the company. That is, not everyone has nor should have access to these drives and the files hereon. 

I have been told that the Alteryx Gallery needs to be granted access to the drives for the workflows to be uploaded and scheduled successfully in the Gallery. However, as explained to me, when the Gallery is granted access to the drives, it will be possible for anyone who has the schedule access to create jobs essentially being able to see the information in the files. It is all files that will become visible, which includes

• The input file (including everything)
    • The output file
    • All other files located on the drive that do not necessarily have anything to do with the workflow

Thus, it has been recommended to me that the workflows not be scheduled, which doesn't really work as a long-term solution.. 

My question is then, is there any way to avoid everyone with the scheduler access within the Gallery to also obtain the access to the drive?

Maybe it is possible to make the workflow private or something so that not everyone can see it and thereby not access it nor the files related to it? 

Or any other ideas?

Thank you for any help in advance! 

2 REPLIES 2
joshuaburkhow
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus